Sunday, March 27, 2011

Bad Art Teacher, should I Take Art next Year?

I'm a freshman in high school, and on the first day of school, my art teacher seemed like an okay guy. His classroom is covered in some cool and not so cool drawings from his classes, so all in all, it's a pretty nice class to draw in. That is, after day two, he did a complete personality flip. He's now VERY strict, plays the WORST music imaginable while we're drawing, and his realism style look like neanderthals, exactly. I wouldn't normally care how he draws, except for the fact that he assumes we have absolutely no artistic knowledge in realism, and we have no choice but to draw the way he does, or face a bad grade. For some reason I have a B-, which I have NEVER had in any art class, ever. My table mates sometimes look to me for the correct anatomy. Some of the seniors even make excuses to leave for a while during double periods, so they won't have to face 2 hour torment of him constantly peering over your shoulder, nagging about what you did wrong, handing out 4 hour detentions, saturday schools, lecturing about random stuff no one cares about. One poor kid was finishing a few math problems towards the end of class, and our teacher walked behind him, took his homework, and ripped it into quarters. I could put all that aside, except that some of the stuff he draws just looks so awful, deformed; and we have no free time to draw what we want or experiment. So, my question, should I quit art and take German and band, or just hope that Art 2 is not as aggravating as Art 1?

No comments:

Post a Comment